Loading Events

« All Events

Art Seminar with Hayakawa – 1, Day 1 of 4

March 9 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Event Series Event Series (See All)

Artists! Take your designs to the next level.

Have you longed for one-on-one critique and feedback on your art projects from a master artist? Do you wish to belong to a community of artists with which to grow and develop your artistic voice and style? Do you seek camaraderie and support from other talented and sincere artists?

Introducing The 2024 WSNF Art Seminars. The first 2 sessions of our Art Seminars will feature master Arashi Shibori artist, Kaei Hayakawa, the last practicing Arashi Shibori artist in Arimatsu, Japan.

For nearly 40 years, Hayakawa-san has been mentoring 400 or so Shibori artists collectively called, The Shibori Community, with groups in five regions of Japan. The Shibori Art Tapestry Exhibition held in Hagi, Japan, October – November 2023, celebrated The Shibori Community’s 38th anniversary and the creative expression of individual artists.  Sample the artistic expression presented at this Exhibition to see the variety and scope of artists that Hayakawa-san has nurtured!

NOW, Hayakawa-san is pleased to offer mentorship and critique for international artists. Learn from a master, learn from each other, be inspired!

Participants: The WSNF Art Seminars are open to all artists in every medium. Hayakawa-san is inclusive and especially appreciates expression using innovative compression-resist on textiles or other materials. He will offer constructive feedback and discussion on design offering new perspectives for artists willing to challenge their capabilities and explore their potential.

Observers: Open to the public for anyone interested in artistic and design processes. Observers may join a seminar for plenty of inspiration and good information, but are asked to be silent. Participation and recordings are not available for the observer. 

Art Shibori Seminar Details:

  • We have planned two seminars with 4-sessions each. Each session runs 2.5 hours. Remote via Zoom.
  • Maximum 8 Participants per seminar.
  • To maximize your seminar experience, participants are asked to email 2 weeks ahead of each session 1) Images of your artwork you wish to be critiqued, 2) Your related questions (Email: programs[at]shibori.org).
  • Participants receive one-on-one feedback, critique, and Q&A with Hayakawa-san on the artwork they email (Up to 15 min per session).
  • A bilingual staff member will moderate and translate.
  • Participants receive recordings of the 4 sessions with unlimited, lifetime access. 
  • 30 min of open discussion for Participants at the end of each session.
  • Seminar Fee (Four 2.5-hour sessions): Participants $320, Observer $80.

Seminar Dates:

Seminar 1:

Saturday, March 9, 15:00 PST / 23:00 GMT  / Sunday, March 10, 8:00 JST 

Saturday, May 11, 15:00 PDT / 23:00 GMT / Sunday, May 12,  7:00 JST 

Saturday, August 10, 15:00 PDT / 23:00 GMT / Sunday August 11, 7:00 JST

Saturday, November 9, 15:00 PST / 23:00 GMT/  Sunday November 10, 8:00 JST

 

Seminar 2:

Saturday, March 16, 15:00 PDT / 22:00 GMT  / Sunday, March 17, 7:00 JST 

Saturday, May 4, 15:00 PDT / 23:00 GMT / Sunday, May 5,  7:00 JST 

Saturday, July 27, 15:00 PDT / 23:00 GMT / Sunday July 28, 7:00 JST

Saturday, November 16, 15:00 PST / 23:00 GMT/  Sunday Nov 17, 8:00 JST

 

Contact Programs[at]shibori.org with any questions.

Details

Date:
March 9
Time:
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Series:
Event Category:

Venue

Zoom Event

Art Seminar with Hayakawa – 1, Day 1 of 4

Artists! Take your designs to the next level.

Have you longed for one-on-one critique and feedback on your art projects from a master artist? Do you wish to belong to a community of artists with which to grow and develop your artistic voice and style? Do you seek camaraderie and support from other talented and sincere artists?

Introducing The 2024 WSNF Art Seminars. The first 2 sessions of our Art Seminars will feature master Arashi Shibori artist, Kaei Hayakawa, the last practicing Arashi Shibori artist in Arimatsu, Japan.

For nearly 40 years, Hayakawa-san has been mentoring 400 or so Shibori artists collectively called, The Shibori Community, with groups in five regions of Japan. The Shibori Art Tapestry Exhibition held in Hagi, Japan, October – November 2023, celebrated The Shibori Community’s 38th anniversary and the creative expression of individual artists.  Sample the artistic expression presented at this Exhibition to see the variety and scope of artists that Hayakawa-san has nurtured!

NOW, Hayakawa-san is pleased to offer mentorship and critique for international artists. Learn from a master, learn from each other, be inspired!

Participants: The WSNF Art Seminars are open to all artists in every medium. Hayakawa-san is inclusive and especially appreciates expression using innovative compression-resist on textiles or other materials. He will offer constructive feedback and discussion on design offering new perspectives for artists willing to challenge their capabilities and explore their potential.

Observers: Open to the public for anyone interested in artistic and design processes. Observers may join a seminar for plenty of inspiration and good information, but are asked to be silent. Participation and recordings are not available for the observer. 

Art Shibori Seminar Details:

  • We have planned two seminars with 4-sessions each. Each session runs 2.5 hours. Remote via Zoom.
  • Maximum 8 Participants per seminar.
  • To maximize your seminar experience, participants are asked to email 2 weeks ahead of each session 1) Images of your artwork you wish to be critiqued, 2) Your related questions (Email: programs[at]shibori.org).
  • Participants receive one-on-one feedback, critique, and Q&A with Hayakawa-san on the artwork they email (Up to 15 min per session).
  • A bilingual staff member will moderate and translate.
  • Participants receive recordings of the 4 sessions with unlimited, lifetime access. 
  • 30 min of open discussion for Participants at the end of each session.
  • Seminar Fee (Four 2.5-hour sessions): Participants $320, Observer $80.

Seminar Dates:

Seminar 1:

Saturday, March 9, 15:00 PST / 23:00 GMT  / Sunday, March 10, 8:00 JST 

Saturday, May 11, 15:00 PDT / 23:00 GMT / Sunday, May 12,  7:00 JST 

Saturday, August 10, 15:00 PDT / 23:00 GMT / Sunday August 11, 7:00 JST

Saturday, November 9, 15:00 PST / 23:00 GMT/  Sunday November 10, 8:00 JST

 

Seminar 2:

Saturday, March 16, 15:00 PDT / 22:00 GMT  / Sunday, March 17, 7:00 JST 

Saturday, May 4, 15:00 PDT / 23:00 GMT / Sunday, May 5,  7:00 JST 

Saturday, July 27, 15:00 PDT / 23:00 GMT / Sunday July 28, 7:00 JST

Saturday, November 16, 15:00 PST / 23:00 GMT/  Sunday Nov 17, 8:00 JST

 

Contact Programs[at]shibori.org with any questions.